Rock & Roll Hall of Fame announces Class of 2023


On Wednesday morning, The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame announced the inductees for the Rock Hall’s ‘Class of 2023.’

LL Cool J revealed the inductees during a live stream, announcing that Kate Bush, Sheryl Crow, Missy Elliott, the late George Michael, Willie Nelson and Rage Against the Machine will be inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. Crow, Elliott, Michael and Nelson were first-time nominees. Artists eligible for the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame must have released their first commercial recording at least 25 years prior to the year of nomination; this year’s nominees were announced in February.

Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Foundation chairman John Sykes said in a statement: “This year’s incredible group of Inductees reflects the diverse artists and sounds that define rock & roll. We are honored that this November’s Induction Ceremony in New York will coincide with two milestones in music culture: the 90th birthday of Willie Nelson and the 50th anniversary of the birth of hip-hop.”

The “musical excellence award” will be given to three additional artists: Chaka Khan, Al Kooper (producer on recordings from Bob Dylan, The Rolling Stones, Lynyrd Skynyrd and Blood, Sweat & Tears), and Bernie Taupin (Elton John’s longtime lyricist).  In addition, the Ahmet Ertegun Award will be presented to Don Cornelius – who hosted ‘Soul Train’ on television from 1970-1993.

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame’s Class Of 23 induction ceremony will take place at Barclays Center in Brooklyn on Nov. 3. Ticket information will be announced in the future. For further details, visit the official website for the Rock Hall’s Class Of 2023.

Editorial credit: f11photo /